July 27: early morning freeze and glacial glory along the way to Jasper

IMG_0467I woke up to find la bestia‘s windows covered in dew. Some of the neighbors had started a fire in the stove to warm up. I had not expected temperatures this low this early in the year. I’m not complaining; D.C. is having power outages amid scorching heat.

IMG_0470Highway 93 from Lake Louise to Jasper led us through spectacular terrain: majestic glaciers and emerald green lakes in the dozens.

IMG_0473This was near Bow Lake.

IMG_0474A view of the southern section of Columbia Icefield, the largest ice field in the Rocky Mountains.

IMG_0475The central glacier of Columbia Icefield. Note the small dots–visitors–at the bottom of the picture for an idea of scale.

IMG_0479The northern section of the ice field. A family from the U.K. took the picture. We had a good chat about economic exploitation of natural beauty. I was a bit jealous of their samosas but managed to hang in there until Harry and I had reached Jasper and I was able to reward myself (for nothing, really…) with a slice of apple pie.

2 thoughts on “July 27: early morning freeze and glacial glory along the way to Jasper

Leave a comment